Churchill Music!UK Registered Charity No 1121866
Patron: Peter Donohoe CBE

Posted on Tuesday 3 February

A large and appreciative audience witnessed an exciting evening of high standard performances given by 7 Churchill Academy students at the annual Churchill Young Musician of the Year competition. The distinguished panel of judges Katherine Spencer BMus, ARAM, LRAM (member of the Galliard Ensemble), Alice Harper MA Cantab and Adrian Trapp MA Cantab had a tough time deciding the final prize-winners. The award of the Churchill Young Musician of the Year 2015 went to Amy Irvine (flute) who musicality shone through. The Churchill Music Audience Trophy winner was Georgina King (piano), the Churchill Music! Junior Trophy winner was Naomi Mills (piano). The Raymond Hayter Song Prize went to Jodie Mckitterick. Hannah Lynam (piano), Lucy Fews (violin) and Rose Trafford (flute) also performed extremely well in an evening that celebrated really good quality music making.

Paul Harrison, second in faculty said, ‘The vision, partnership and support that we have with Churchill Music! makes such high quality experiences for our students a regular occurrence and we are very grateful to them for all they do. This event is a brilliant collaboration, which opens up so many opportunities for our students, opportunities which they grasp with enthusiasm and great skill.”

The winners have the opportunity to perform at the highly prestigious venue of St George's Bristol the following week and this year Wrington Vale Rotary Club offered the award winners a place in the District final of the Rotary Young Musician of the Year competition.

Another highlight of the evening was the Year 9 Piano Trio of George Skeen (violin), Daniel Robinson (cello) and Thomas Perry (piano) who entertained us with a Mozart piano trio at the end of the interval.

Back to the news archive...