Churchill Music!UK Registered Charity No 1121866
Patron: Peter Donohoe CBE

Posted on Thursday 31 January

Holly Greenwood-Rogers becomes Churchill Young Musician of the Year 2013

The atmosphere was electric in St. John’s Church Churchill on Monday 28th January as the 7 finalists in the Churchill Young Musician of the Year Competition performed their chosen works to a thrilled audience.

Honoured guests included Chairman of North Somerset Council, Cllr. Terry Porter and Mrs Porter; local Councillors, Ann Harley and Liz Wells; the Chairman of the Board of Governors, Ian Poole; Head Teacher, Dr. Barry Wratten, and Chairman of Churchill Music! Trevor Smallwood. Friends, members of the staff of Churchill Academy and Champions of Churchill Music! were all there to hear the young musicians perform in this thrilling competition.

Peter Hewitt, Director of the Royal College of Music, Junior Department headed up the panel of judges, with Adrian Trapp and Aly Harper. Their task was difficult as the competitors performed to a high standard, introducing themselves and their pieces with confidence and some humour.

Richard Owen, cello, Flora Cooknell, clarinet, Georgina King, piano, Lucy Fews, violin, Holly Greenwood-Rogers, French horn, Paul Hickman, voice, and Andrew Beadle, viola, entertained the enthusiastic audience with pieces by a wide variety of composers, from Mozart to the contemporary David Shire. There were some spine tingling moments in each of their performances.

To stem the nail biting during the interval, as the judges retired to make their decisions, Churchill Music! organisers and friends handed around their delicious home-made nibbles and were further treated to a virtuoso performance by the 2012 Young Musician winner, Therese Paine on her French horn.

To divert the attention from that agonising wait whilst the adjudication took place, one of the longest standing Churchill Music! Champions, John Pocket presented the Raymond Hayter Song Prize generously donated each year by local resident, Beryl Roper, which this year was awarded to Hannah Lowrie.

Finally, the excitement was palpable as chair of the judging panel, Peter Hewitt entered to give his panel's adjudication. "Tonight we heard a really enjoyable recital with a very happy atmosphere, and a very creditable level of performing of which Churchill Academy and Churchill Music! should be very proud." Peter used his great experience to both constructively criticise and give warm encouragement to each competitor, expressing his appreciation of their skill, presentation and musicality before finally coming to the all-important presentation of the prizes.

HollyGreenwood-Rogers followed the family tradition as Churchill Young Musician of the Year 2013, receiving the generous cheque from the anonymous donor; Lucy Fews won the Audience Trophy and Flora Cooknell, the youngest ever competitor, won the Junior Trophy.

All winners also have the opportunity to perform in a special concert at the invitation of Churchill Music!'s partner, St. George's Bristol, on Monday 4th February 2013 and thanks to the generosity of the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, free membership of the BSO Vibes scheme for young musicians. Each competitor was awarded an iTunes token again, generously given by an anonymous donor

Dr. Barry Wratten drew the evening to a close by congratulating all involved; competitors, music staff, parents and supporters. Churchill Music! were also congratulated for their enthusiasm, and untiring search for excellence.

Back to the news archive...