Churchill Music!UK Registered Charity No 1121866
Patron: Peter Donohoe CBE

Posted on Saturday 4 February

Even on a very cold Monday night when all sensible people are toasting their toes in front of their fires, the lure of the annual Churchill Music! Young Musician of the Year competition filled St John’s Church, Churchill, for another sumptuous feast of music making and appreciation. This is such a highlight of the year – seven of the most talented young musicians from Churchill Academy fighting it out for Churchill Music!’s prestigious awards - but fighting it out with customary good grace and mutual support. The adjudicating panel was chaired this year by Jon Thorne, violist with the Badke Quartet and professor of viola at the Royal Academy of Music and the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama. The adjudicating panel included Alice Harper, MA Cantab, Soprano and Adrian Trapp, MA Cantab Organist and Director of Music, Weston-super-Mare Parish Church. Add to this a supportive and knowledgeable audience whose important role is not only their cheer them all to the ancient rafters but to vote for the Audience Prize winner. There was a warm welcome and gorgeous hospitality from Churchill Music! (the nibbles are to die for) that ensured this really was a wonderful occasion. The competitors – (Peter Bruce (Year 13, Cello), Aimee Ratcliffe (Year 11, Piano), Patrick Hegarty (Year 11, Classical Guitar), Therese Paine (Year 12, French Horn), Richard Owen (Year 11, Cello), Georgina King (Year 9, Piano) and Andrew Beadle (Year 12, Viola)) – provided a musical evening of great skill and variety. When the judges retired in the interval ex-student Ruth Harrison – destined next year for the Guildhall School of Music – performed quite sublimely with her flute before the really excellent feedback from panel Chair, Jon Thorne, for each competitor. The winners (who will perform at a special lunchtime concert at St George’s’ in Bristol on Friday, 3rd February) were: Therese Paine, Young Musician of the Year; Georgina King, Audience Award and Richard Owen, Junior Award. Catherine Freda, Head of Education at St Georges’ Bristol, who praised the excellent partnership between Churchill Music!, and St. George’s Bristol Education, presented the prizes!. Churchill Academy extends its sincere thanks Churchill Music! for its great support of its young musicians. Dr. Barry Wratten

Back to the news archive...