Churchill Music!UK Registered Charity No 1121866
Patron: Peter Donohoe CBE

Posted on Thursday 28 January

Churchill Music! launched into 2010 in style with the Churchill Young Musician of the Year competition. Eight outstanding finalists gave the judges a hard time in St. John's Church on Monday 25th January.

Each musician had to perform a contrasting programme of eight minutes duration and had to introduce each work to the audience.

The works were performed to huge applause and bore out Dr. Wratten's (Head Teacher Churchill Community School) statement that this was a "golden year of talent". The competition was so close that for the first time there was no alternative but to award first prize to two young musicians. Chris Preddy, trumpet, and Stacey Bartlett, voice were the lucky winners. Anne Paine delighted the audience with her sparkling marimba playing and sailed home with the Churchill Music! Audience Trophy.

Prizes were given away by Churchill Music! Patron, Vivienne Price MBE pictured above with Stacey and Chris.

You can have another opportunity to hear the three winners when they perform at a lunchtime concert at St. George's Bristol on March 11 at 1pm.

The adjudicating panel was chaired this year by Melanie Ragge, Professor of Oboe at the Royal Academy of Music and oboe tutor at the Purcell School. Melanie was joined by Alice Harper, soprano, currently working for the Royal College of Music Junior Department and Adrian Trapp Director of Music, Weston Parish Church, Farmington Fellow; Oxford University.

During the tantalising adjudication interval, the audience were entertained by students of Churchill Community Foundation School, last year's winner, pianist Helen Hegarty and were treated to a world premier of a delightful work for piano and clarinet composed by Andrew Tyrrell for Head of Music - Alison Cooper and performed by the duo!

Back to the news archive...